How a book is born: The independent book stores

February 17, 2010 at 12:31 pm | Posted in Education, Fundraising, Kids and reading, Publishing your story, Writing | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Looking for distribution that gets your books into the hands of kids while earning you money? That’s the ultimate challenge.

I downloaded a list of independent bookstores from the web. They all specialize in children’s books. But will that work?

Studies show that:

  1.  Fewer people are reading
  2.  Online services are ruining  brick and mortar stores
  3.  Book readers like the Kindle, are making printed material obsolete.

The statistics are against me, but I was going to plow forward. Based on what is going on in the book industry, my independent search results were not surprising. First, I started by calling stores in New York State where I am located. Some were too small to do any volume and others were not quite making it. Others were only interested in purchasing from national distributors.  And still others would carry  but only if they get 65% of the sales price. Plus I have to pay for shipping the books to the store and the shipping for returns.

At this point, I only have three local stories who have agreed to carry the book. I will use their logo in my local advertising to encourage people to go to their stories to buy.

Personally, I think our one book will get lost on the shelf and is not worth the investment.

I have also placed our book on Amazon.com. They sold ten books in the last six months. I will also look into Barnes and Noble online. I have placed my book on Amazon not because I thought it was a great distribution stream but it gives us credibility. I found that some online book reviewers will only review the book if you are on at least one of the online booksellers. (Does that include Wal-Mart…only a joke.)

It does take work to make your book stand out. If bookstores or the online booksellers are not the best distribution stream, then what’s next?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

